Confessions of a “drawing junkee”


Behold the power of boldness!

Behold the power of boldness!

There is something magically wonderful to be able to lead a young person into the creative world of drawing a picture.  I’ve never had them turn me down if I asked if they wanted to make a picture with me.  Their willingness is amazing….unguarding…and full of  zesty enthusiasm.  Who wouldn’t want to be around that kind of circumstance?!

A clean piece of white paper and a pencil or pen in hand and away we go step by step!   I try to break it down into simple steps and simple shapes…a little at a time…I don’t overwhelm them and I strive to set them up for  success.  And it is amazing how their inner treasure chest of creativity opens and spills out…”can I make his hair curly?”  or “I want my picture to have a dog running with a birthday hat!”.

I’m always amazed at the ease that a young person has to flow into the creative river that is within them…I feel my part is merely to “uncork” the bottle and let what is already there begin to come out.rich-promo-photo-bw-mailer1

2 Responses to “Confessions of a “drawing junkee””

  1. Suzanne H Says:

    Hi Rich, Thanks for sharing… You have an amazing talent and your sweet spirit of sharing shows brightly! I’ve read somewhere that we are all born as artists and creatives, but most of the time it is schooled out of us. Keep up the great work! And thanks for being an inspiration to me!

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Thanks, Suzanne…I read your December blog entry and noticed you haven’t gone back to write more…I encourage you to continue, I know there are things the Spirit of Truth is doing in your heart.
      Thanks for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

