Hearing you


I can’t sit down and talk with those who come to my drawing site but we can talk through “comments”.  Would you take a moment and tell me what drawing activities you like on my site (you can even say why)…do you like the videos?  Is there something you would like to see more of?  Is what I am offering helpful to your kids…easy to follow?

I want to empower your kids to draw more and more and enjoy it.

This input will help me hone my site to your needs…and that is my desire.

thanks so much!

14 Responses to “Hearing you”

  1. awwills Says:

    Thank you for your encouragement! I asked her what she’d like to learn to draw and she said ‘a castle’! She’s also into houses, animals and vehicles. I read the comment on Richard Scarry’s transport things and will get some of his books, too. She wouldn’t complain whatever you decide to teach next. Thank you again! :)

  2. Larissa MacDonald Says:

    Hi Rich, I can’t figure out how to reply to your response to my comment from before without signing up for my own blog so I’ll have to post another comment here.
    All of my previous comment except the last sentence (about our internet connection) was from my 10 year old son! He’s the one with the cartoon idea and all the other themes. :-)
    He’s always loved to draw and really enjoys each email you send out. He’s also read many cartoons – from Calvin & Hobbes to graphic novels – so I’ll let him read your hints and see where it leads.
    I think I’ll also get him to pick his favorite doodle bug & teach his 8yo sister and 6 & 4yo brothers how do draw it, too! He can draw it step-by-step on the white board while they copy on their own paper. :-) (An art class for our homeschool that I don’t have to teach!)

  3. Sally Wallace Says:

    Recently I had special activity time for three different grade levels K, 1, and 2. For the activity, I followed your step-by-step instructions to draw doodlebugs. The children had fun drawing them and wanted the website address so they could see the other content you offer. The bulletin boards in my room are filled with colorful doodlebug drawings. Such a generous contribution you make to all of us through your website. One suggestion I would offer would be to have a printable page with all of the steps to drawing one of your creations. For instance one printable page on how to draw a doodlebug. But even without that available, your website is a top resource for children, parents, and teachers. Thank you and may you continue to use your gifts and talents to glorify God.

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Sally, how great that your kids enjoyed the step by step doodlebug drawing! Very cool. I think it’s great that you are willing to give them a chance to draw. As far as a printable version of the steps, I am putting together a book called, “Drawing Doodle Bugs” that will have step by
      step drawings for making all 18 and their world of flowers and cars and houses, etc. I have found them invaluable when I go into schools and draw with kids to get them writing creatively and letting their imagination take them fun places they enjoy and want to draw about. I do have a download page that has a few things…coloring pages (doodle bugs and my children’s books characters) and video shorts. I don’t know if your school has money for having children’s book author/illustrators, but I will come and draw with the whole elem. school and give things that are very valuable for helping them grow creatively. I love those times….650 kids in a day’s time is not unusual! Last, I do have a small, simple drawing game that is being enjoyed world wide now called Pick and Draw…school teachers have begun to use it with marvelous results. There is a website for it you can look at and the game is only $10. Thanks again for the encouragement!

  4. Joanna Cheryan Says:

    we love your written step-by-step instructions too. My 6-yr old is a very reluctant artist, but the doodlebug post – where he could see the steps all laid out so simply in advance – gave him the confidence to have a go and he was thrilled with his success. Some time later, he went back and did it again too. I love your blog because it makes it so easy for a child who lacks confidence, to see that they can draw! We’d be keen to see ships, animals and people with different expressions (annoyed, surprised, worried, overjoyed etc). Thanks for sharing your gift with us!
    Joanna

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Thanks Joanna for letting me know about your son’s confidence being helped through the drawing…I thank God for that and pray it continues. We all need help to overcome that fear every now and then. Many have invested in my life through the years…it’s my privilege to do the same. Doodle bugs take over whole schools after I go in and show kids how to draw them…weeks later I’ll have teachers tell me they continue to appear in kid’s drawings. Love it!

  5. Larissa MacDonald Says:

    I would like to make comic strips about your doodle bugs – can you give some ideas? I would like more doodle bugs. I like the transport theme idea, too. Here are some more ideas: jungle theme, dinosaurs, knights/princesses/castles, army, ancient cities. ~ 10yoDS
    We like the step-by-step drawings because our internet isn’t fast enough to watch videos.

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Larissa, what a great idea making comic strips using doodle bugs…that brings many things to mind immediately! If you’re wanting to head in that direction, I think a good beginning point is to read a lot of comic strips of different kinds. Ask your kids if they can tell you what the point of that strip is that the artist was trying to say. Point out that you don’t have to put words in every frame of the strip…sometimes it’s just showing a reaction (emotionally) to something that is said or that happens. And, to get your kids thinking about their own cartoon strips (which is one of the simplest forms of story telling), have them decide what they want to say at the last panel…then go backwards with how to get there. When you have them study comic strips, they will start noticing how they are put together. They can also try to draw a character from that strip as practice with their drawing. That is how I learned to do art and never had formal art lessons till I was in my third year of college. Have fun…I’ll keep in mind the other themes…you must be a lady with a lot of ideas!

  6. Karen Felder (@karevan1120) Says:

    My first grade students and I love your step by step drawing instructions. I have used several of them as ‘prompts’ for writing. Students are encouraged to add to the drawings and write stories about the characters. We have had success with Sassy and Ploosh to name a few. Unfortunately your site is blocked at our school so I have had to be creative. I am however able to use things that you share in your emails. We can’t wait for your newest step by step. Hopefully it will be out before we end school on June 6th!

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Karen…thanks for the great encouragement…I”m thrilled you got to use Ploosh and Sassy and used them as prompts for writing! That is exactly what I hoped teachers would see the potential for and run with it! Don’t know if you know about my simple drawing game, Pick and Draw (.com) but teachers are using it in the same way. Kids make a cartoon face using the cards, then name the character; tell something about their character (something they are good at or like to do and favorite kind of music) and write a story with their character in it. They love this!

  7. Tocraft Everyday Says:

    I love your step-by-step written instruction on drawing. It guides me to teach my 3 years old son how to draw. My son loves all kind of transport ie car, helicopter, crane, train etc and I would love to teach him to draw them. So, I would be most grateful for some sample transport drawings.
    Thank you so much for sharing your expertise and time.
    Heaney.

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Very neat that you are teaching your 3 year old…you’re involved interactively with that process! Kudos! I like your suggestion of the transportation theme…hmmmmm, I could going in that direction pretty easily! I always liked Richard Scarry’s drawings of transport things. Do you look at his books with your son? I also wonder if he might enjoy making some transport things out of clay (crayola has “air-dried” clay at Wal Mart pretty cheap and it dries hard, hard)?

  8. awwills Says:

    My 3-year-old LOVES the videos and she asks to watch them OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER again. Your generosity to share has expanded her ability to express new ideas through her drawings. The speed of your videos is just right; not too fast and not too slow so she can follow along. We love the music you pick to go along with the videos, too. Thank you for being so open about your faith, too. That also reminds us and her that the ability to draw and create is a gift from God.

    I understand you are busy with projects but we’d love more videos when you have time. :) This is a link to just a few of our 3-year-old’s recent drawings. http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150770469325761.459787.638650760&type=3&l=711638745c

    Thank you for being such a blessing to us.

    Angela

    • richdavis1 Says:

      Angela, wow, your daughter has a real gift. Alot of what drawing takes is to “see”. She sees pretty accurately already at 3 years old. Some people God gives a head start on learning to see. She would be one of them. Glad yall like the videos…I’ll keep’em coming. any thing in
      particular you would like to learn how to draw?

Leave a Reply

