To Repurpose or not to Repurpose?


Repurposing is a buzz word that has lited on many a computer…many a magazine….and many conversations.  It is a very good thing especially in light of King Solomon’s wise observation about life in the Bible, “there is nothing new under the sun”.  Real creativity flows when you take something that seems used up and ready to be thrown away…and make it into something else that is unique.

Recently, while visiting family in another state, we went to an antique store.  A glass jar full of colored wooden pieces caught my eye.  It had different shaped pieces that looked to be part of some kind of old board game.  The artistic side of me issued an internal challenge for myself…”pay the $10 for the jar  and make something unique with it”.  Without knowing what I would do, I was intrigued and considered it as I continued to look around… but finally walked away and left the store.  However, the thought would not go away and as we were walking toward the car to leave, impulsively I excused myself from the group and made myself go back in the store and buy the jar.  I even told the shop owner my idea as I was paying for them and she handed me her business card asking me to email me a picture of what I came up with.  Here is the jar….

SONY DSCA couple of days later, as I continued to pass by the jar wondering what I could do with the pieces,  I took the pieces out of the jar.  I was surprised to discover that touching them and turning them around to study them opened up  doors in the idea factory of my mind.  Then in a moment of discovery,  “the” idea came strong and I knew that these pieces could be repurposed into a unique, one-of-a-kind nativity set.  There would be no directions to unfold and read in order to construct it….just spontaneous play and experiment.  I would have to “follow my intuition”.  So, I have begun….I’m in the midst of making it happen now.  I  will show you my finished pieces when I’m finished, but for now, here is my start with the three kings….

SONY DSC

Maybe there is something you have overlooked that needs some of your creative juices to give it a new life….to repurpose or not to repurpose?  That is a very good question…. you’ll have to answer.

 

 

Tags:

One Response to “To Repurpose or not to Repurpose?”

  1. Robin Van Norman Says:

    Rich – the game pieces you purchased are from a carom board. Love your creativity in making them into a nativity. It will be one-of-a-kind – just as you are. Thanks for your uplifting messages. Still enjoy using the pic and draw cards we purchased when you did the art class with the homeschool kids (in Early, Iowa) several years ago. God Bless you and yours. R Van Norman Date: Thu, 24 Oct 2013 15:45:05 +0000 To: rockin_robin54@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

