The wonderful world of Talking with Pictures


We do a lot of drawing on this site and we talk about things we draw with our pencil…

DB house

dr seuss drawing

but sometimes we need to make lines and shapes

from objects that we can hold in our hand.

me and clay tiny

SONY DSC

 

 

 

When we draw, that is called “2 dimensional“…

PAD_knight copy

when we use objects to make art or create surfaces that have form and dimension, it’s called “3 dimensional“.  Here’s a cowboy face I did a while back…

cowboy stan_full_MAILER

 

Today, I want to show you a 3 dimensional piece of art I created for the purpose of visually saying a message I want others to remember.

The message is the word, “TOGETHER”.  Here’s a peak at it…

SONY DSC

I could have written the word….painted the words….and been very fancy with my letters.

SONY DSC

 

But I wanted to get across the important message that everyone is different and that difference should not be looked at as something that divides us and makes us

feel strange and left out and alone.

SONY DSC

Instead, I wanted to bring objects that are easily overlooked from my garage and combine them to make the letters of

this one word.  This way, I am giving you 2 different languages….one is using the letters to spell the word, “TOGETHER”…and the other language is to “show” you

what TOGETHER looks like.

SONY DSC

See?

I felt I could get across my message strongest if I used objects instead of drawing lines on paper.

My neighbor was throwing away the big board that the letters are on….it’s actually a kitchen cabinet door that was made over 70 years ago.  I saw it and asked if I could have it.  This is

what I used to act as my “paper” that I would put my letters on.  It even had built in wire hangers (the top hinges) !

A 3 dimensional picture is also more durable than a piece of paper (2 dimensional) and if you feel your message is one that you want to last a long time, 3 dimensional might be

what you need to try.

SONY DSC

 

This was very very fun and when I was done, I wanted to do more.  That is how making and creating things should be.  God meant it to refresh us and give us a stronger voice to

say things that are inside us.

Hmmmmm…I wonder what I want to say next?

opera singer MAILER

….but that is 2 dimensional!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The wonderful world of Talking with Pictures”

  1. Megan (A Barefoot Gal) Says:

    I love it!

Leave a Reply

